Rosemary Garlic Rolls

This “Sweet Roll Dough” is a recipe my mother gave me.  I have such wonderful childhood memories of my mother baking every Saturday morning and helping her.  She taught me to bake and I always looked forward to helping – it was our time together in the kitchen.  Usually when we had “company” for dinner or for the holidays she would bake cloverleaf dinner rolls with this recipe.  I could easily eat 3 or 4 of them, they were that good!  She also made cinnamon rolls as a special treat.  What would we do without our Mothers?  I know I am lucky to have the mother I do – thank you for this favorite recipe for “Sweet Roll Dough” and for all the special memories!

I was making tortellini soup and still had some rosemary in my garden to use up and thought a rosemary garlic roll would be a perfect accompaniment.  This recipe is very versatile and I’ve used it for cloverleaf dinner rolls, cinnamon rolls and now garlic rosemary rolls.

Sweet Roll Dough (Cloverleaf  Dinner Rolls)

Measure into bowl – ½ cup warm water (not hot) add, stirring to dissolve 2 packages of dry yeast.

 Stir in the following:

  •  1-1/2 Cup lukewarm milk
  • ½ Cup sugar
  • 2 Teaspoons salt
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ Cup shortening
  • 7 – 7-1/2 Cups flour

 Mix with spoon until smooth.  Add enough remaining flour to handle easily.  Mix with hands.  Turn onto lightly floured board; knead until smooth and elastic (approximately 10 minutes).  Round up in greased bowl, greased side up.  Cover and let rise in warm place until double (approximately 1-1/2 – 2 hours).

Punch down and round into balls, placing three balls into muffin tins. Cover and let rise until double (approximately 30 minutes to 1 hour).

 Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

For rosemary garlic rolls I followed the recipe above except instead of shaping into balls I rolled the dough into a rectangle and spread a mixture of chopped garlic and rosemary, with softened butter onto the dough.  I then rolled the dough and cut slices to make the rolls and let rise for approximately 1 hour.

The scent that filled the kitchen was heavenly and the taste was divine!  Enjoy!

One thought on “Rosemary Garlic Rolls

Leave a Reply

