Creamy, Dreamy Old Fashioned Rice Pudding

Creamy, dreamy, old fashioned rice pudding – daydreaming of yesteryear and a little boy named “Pudding Boy” who grew up on a farm. When times were simple and everything was made from “scratch”, pudding was no exception.  Pudding Boy is a nickname that was given to my Dad when he was a little boy.  As the name would imply, he loved pudding – all pudding, and thus, the name Pudding Boy was born.  When I have listened to my Dad talk about his childhood it is immediately apparent that he loved his childhood, his mother’s baked goods, trips to the market with his Dad and life on the farm by the expression on his face, the twinkle in his eyes and the love in his heart. 

And as I made the rice pudding, I could not help but think of Pudding Boy, my Dad, and what a fantastic kind, warm, and loving Dad he is, and how much love I have for him in my heart.  Food plays such an important role in our lives and in our memories … and so today, make your Dad’s favorite treat and share the priceless gift of you with him!

Enjoy!

Creamy Rice Pudding

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup uncooked white rice
  • 2 cups milk, divided
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
 Directions
  1. In a medium saucepan, bring 1 1/2 cups water to a boil. Add rice and stir. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
  2. In another saucepan, combine 1 1/2 cups cooked rice, 1 1/2 cups milk, sugar and salt. Cook over medium heat until thick and creamy, 15 to 20 minutes. Stir in remaining 1/2 cup milk, and beaten egg. Cook 2 minutes more, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, and stir in butter and vanilla. Serve warm or cold.

Source:  Allrecipes.com

11 thoughts on “Creamy, Dreamy Old Fashioned Rice Pudding

  1. This looks wonderful. My husband is a puddin’ kinda guy, especially tapioca. But he loves rice too. I used to get the best Greek rice pudding in greek town in Detroit. They used to sprinkle cinnamon on it. It was so good.

  2. Rice pudding makes me think of my grandma… I would love to make this, perhaps with some cardamom, raisins and almonds. Now you’ve got me heading to the kitchen :-)

    • Thank you so much and thanks for the nice compliment on my photo. :-) I’m trying to get better – it’s hard when most of my photos have to be taken when its dark without natural light. Thanks for noticing :-)

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Dairy Free Rice Pudding « Reformed Foodie

Leave a Reply

