Asian Sesame Noodle Salad

I started making this salad a couple of summers ago and it was love at first taste.  It combines all the wonderful asian cuisine flavors I have come to love such as tamari, fresh ginger root, and peanut; culminating into one fantastic salad!
Ingredients

PEANUT DRESSING

      • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
      • 1/4 cup tamari ( or use soy sauce)
      • 1/3 cup warm water
      • 2 tablespoons peeled fresh ginger, chopped
      • 1 teaspoon fresh minced garlic
      • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
      • 1 1/2 tablespoons sesame oil
      • 3 teaspoons honey
      • 1/2 teaspoon crushed chili pepper flakes ( or to taste)

NOODLE SALAD

    • 3/4 lb linguine ( or use vermicelli or thin spaghetti)
    • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
    • 4 green onions, thinly sliced
    • 1 red bell pepper and 1 yellow pepper, seeded and cut into thin strips
    • 1 cup of sliced carrots
    • 2-3 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds

Directions

  1. Cook the pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water until tender; drain and rinse well under COLD water, then toss with 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, transfer to a large bowl, then add in the red bell pepper and green onions.
  2. Using a food processor or blender puree all the dressing ingredients until smooth (about 2 minutes).
  3. Just before serving pour the dressing over the cooked pasta and veggies, then add in the toasted sesame seeds; toss well to combine.

Source:  Adapted from Food.com

29 thoughts on “Asian Sesame Noodle Salad

  1. I just made this for lunch today and I added some sauteed shrimp in a little oil and garlic. Everything else was your concoction. Delicious!! I hinted around broadly for a pasta attachment for mother’s day….we shall see!

    • Hi there! :-) So glad you enjoyed it!! Hey .. that sounds really good with shrimp, I’ll try that next time I make it.

      So … were your hints taken and did you receive your pasta attachment????

      • I got a watch. Not even remotely like a pasta attachment. I am happy with my current watch. So I shall see what I can do without hurting any feelings….

      • No, not even close. That’s a tough one, I’m never quite sure how to do that but it’s better than keeping something I don’t need or like. Good luck :-)

  2. I love anything with peanut butter as a base. I eat pb straight out of the jar because I love it so much. Can’t wait to try your sauce. It looks fantastic!

  3. Made this tonight with just the sauce and pasta (second trimester with my fifth child–call it laziness) with corn on the cob and Asian-style roasted Brussels sprouts. We call it the Friday fridge clean. Weird menu? Yes. Delicious pasta? Indeed!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment! :-) I’m so glad you enjoyed it! You can’t possibly fit into the “lazy” category with 4 children and 1 on the way!! Have a great weekend!

  4. Pingback: Sweet and Tangy Rice Noodle Salad | Seattle Foodshed

Leave a Reply

