Bourbon Pecan Chicken

Here is another winner from allrecipes.com.  Chicken cutlets, covered with a luscious pecan crust to seal in the juices, accompanied by a bourbon sauce.  Ohhhh YUM!

Bourbon Pecan Chicken

Ingredients:

1/2 cup finely chopped pecans
1/2 cup dry bread crumbs
8 skinless, boneless chicken breast
halves
1/4 cup clarified butter, melted
1/4 cup Dijon mustard
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
2 2/3 tablespoons bourbon whiskey
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
3/4 cup unsalted butter, chilled and cut
into small cubes
1/2 cup sliced green onions
Directions:
1. Stir together the pecans, bread crumbs, and 2 tablespoons of clarified butter. Spread the mixture out on a plate. Press the chicken breasts into the mixture to coat on both sides. Heat the remaining 2 tablespoons of clarified butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Place the coated chicken breasts in the pan, and fry on both sides until nicely browned and chicken meat is cooked through, about 10 minutes per side.
2. In a small saucepan, whisk together the Dijon mustard, brown sugar, bourbon, soy sauce, and Worcestershire sauce until smooth. Bring to a simmer over medium-low heat, then remove from the burner, and whisk in the 3/4 cup of unsalted butter one piece at a time (I omitted the butter to eliminate extra fat and whisked in a teaspoon of corn starch with water to thicken sauce).
3. Arrange the chicken breasts on a large serving plate. Pour the sauce over the chicken, and sprinkle with green onion.

Source:  Allrecipes.com

17 thoughts on “Bourbon Pecan Chicken

  1. This looks wonderfully delicious. Pecans and bourbon = Heaven! I would be all over this if I had some bourbon in the house. May have to just settle for pecan (crusted) chicken but I’ve made that before. I’ll wait till I get Maker’s Mark back in the house.

    BTW, the photo is gorgeous! You’re getting better and better. FoodGawker here she comes

  2. Your photos are amazing! I’m trying to get better pictures for my blog but unfortunately my husband gets impatient waiting to eat while I try to get pictures. Are you sure you don’t work for a food magazine? I’ve copied this recipe to try since it’s a coincidence that I just posted one myself for bourbon pork chops which were very tasty.

    • What a wonderfully nice compliment – thank you! 🙂 Ahhh … my husband too suffers from impatience! I solved that problem by setting up a space in the basement, getting my camera set up ahead of time and right before dinner is ready I take a plate down and shoot my pics. Then I’m back upstairs, and putting food on the table in the dining room and everyone is happy! 🙂

  3. I tried this last night & it was delicious! I made it with just 4 chicken cutlets & the sauce was just the right amount. Since my husband loves sauces I think I would double it if I used 8 pieces. Quite a nice combination of flavors.

    • We eat a lot of chicken as well. I think you’d like it! BTW I meant to tell you that we tried topsy turvies for the first time last summer and they did amazing. We grew tomatoes and peppers. My husband built a tall wooden box frame that stood over 6 feet tall and we hung the topsy from the top – it worked out great.

Leave a Reply

