Chicken Pot Pie – Comfort meal at its very best.

Chicken Pot Pie

I ate something I haven’t eaten since it came out of the freezer section in a box in high school – Chicken Pot Pie.  Remember those frozen pot pies?  I’m happy to say this chicken pot pie turned out amazing!  Wow … it was deliciously thick, flavorful and the crust was flaky and tender –  a far cry from the boxed version I ate during my childhood years!  If you are tempted to buy an already made pie crust … don’t give in to temptation!  Take the extra time to make your own and you will be glad you did as it enhances the overall experience of taking your first bite of deliciousness and the next and the next.  I bought the individual dishes specifically to make chicken pot pie last year and had told Tim I was going to make chicken pot pies for him.  Just about a year later I have finally made the chicken pot pies I have been promising him.  Since Tim loved my pot pies so much I decided to be an extra good wife and let him have the other two pies I had made … although now I kinda wish I hadn’t because now I want the other one.  lol  I guess I’ll just have to make them again.  Be sure to roll your pie crust thin enough to cover all four individual servings.  I didn’t roll my crust thin enough and I was one top crust short – but this way you get to see the inside of the chicken pot pie.  Enjoy!

Chicken Pot Pie
Large pie serves 4-5, mini pies serve 6
Ingredients
2 homemade pie crusts
2 cups water
1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
2 carrots, peeled and cubed
1 medium onion, chopped
2 tablespoons chicken bouillon granules
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 cup butter
4 tablespoons cornstarch
1 tablespoon flour
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1 cup frozen peas
1 egg
1 tbsp. water
Directions
In 4-quart saucepot combine water, chicken, carrots, celery and onion. Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add chicken bouillon, pepper and butter. Dissolve cornstarch and flour into whipping cream and stir into chicken mixture. Simmer 3 minutes, stirring frequently until thickened. Add peas and set aside.

Roll out two 9-inch pie crusts. Place bottom crust into six ramekins or one 9-inch pie plate, and shape with your fingers. Pour filling into bottom crust. Roll out top crust; cut slits for steam to escape. Cover filling with top crust. Seal crusts and wave edge with your fingers. Whisk egg with water, and brush top crust with egg wash.
Bake in a 400 degree oven for 35-40 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown and filling is bubbling. If top crust is browning too quickly, cover loosely with aluminium foil. Let stand 15-20 minutes before serving.

Source:  TheComfortofCooking.com

Chicken Pot Pie

5 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie – Comfort meal at its very best.

Leave a Reply

