Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzala and Mixed Greens Salad with Grilled Chicken

The pairing of chicken, oranges and blue cheese along with a homemade orange dressing is magical.  I have made this with and without the grilled chicken.  Feta is also good in this salad in place of the gorgonzola.

Ingredients

  •   3/4 cup walnut halves
  •  10 ounces mixed salad greens with arugula
  •  1 can mandarin oranges or 2 cutie pie oranges
  •  1/2 cup sliced red onion
  •  1/4 cup olive oil
  •  1/4 cup vegetable oil
  •  2/3 cup orange juice
  •  1/4 cup white sugar
  •  2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  •  2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup crumbled Gorgonzola cheese
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries

 Directions

Place the walnuts in a skillet over medium heat. Cook 5 minutes, stirring constantly, until lightly browned.

In a large bowl, toss the toasted walnuts, salad greens, oranges, cranberries and red onion.

In a large jar with a lid, mix the olive oil, vegetable oil, orange juice, sugar, vinegar, mustard, oregano, and pepper. Seal jar, and shake to mix.

Divide the salad greens mixture into individual servings. To serve, sprinkle with Gorgonzola cheese, and drizzle with the dressing mixture.

 
32 thoughts on “Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzala and Mixed Greens Salad with Grilled Chicken

    • Thanks so much Tia! I actually posted that by mistake! I was working on it and was in the process of getting different photos and I don’t know what happened but all of a sudden it was posted! I did repost with different photos and then I realized I had a typo in my heading and I wasn’t about to repost the 3rd time! lol

  1. Hi there. I just wanted to let you know that I have given you the Liebster Award. Please got to http://susartandfood.wordpress.com/ to read more about it. Basically you will link to me on your blog and nominate 5 bloggers you like with under 200 readers (this may or may not be true – I don’t know always how to tell). Anyhow, I enjoy reading your stories so this is my way of showing it 🙂

Leave a Reply

