Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana Soup

Zuppa Tuscana Soup

I had posted this recipe over a year ago.  It needed updated photos and a re-post because this soup is super delicious!  It’s getting to be that time of year when the temperatures are dipping and soup tastes extra good when it’s chilly and cold outside.  I love this soup for it’s simplicity and great flavors.  An added benefit is the boost of nutrition with super-food Kale.  Kale holds up well in soup, much better than spinach.  One can never get enough Kale!  ENJOY!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound bulk mild Italian sausage
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
  • 4 slices bacon, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 5 (13.75 ounce) cans chicken broth (home-made chicken broth is even better)
  • 6 potatoes, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup heavy cream or half and half
  • 1 bunch fresh kale, tough stems removed

Directions

  1. Cook the Italian sausage and red pepper flakes in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat until crumbly, browned, and no longer pink, 10 to 15 minutes. Drain and set aside.
  2. Cook the bacon in the same Dutch oven over medium heat until crisp, about 10 minutes. Drain, leaving a few tablespoons of drippings with the bacon in the bottom of the Dutch oven. Stir in the onions and garlic; cook until onions are soft and translucent, about 5 minutes.
  3. Pour the chicken broth into the Dutch oven with the bacon and onion mixture; bring to a boil over high heat. Add the potatoes, and boil until fork tender, about 20 minutes. Reduce the heat to medium and stir in the heavy cream and the cooked sausage; heat through. Mix the Kale into the soup just before serving.

Slightly adapted from:  Allrecipes

Zuppa Tuscana Soup

11 thoughts on “Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana Soup

    • Hi 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment. I will have to look at your blog … I love soup this time of year and I’m always looking for new recipes. Kale is awesome isn’t it?!

    • Hi 🙂 Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to comment.
      I thought I replied but I don’t think it got posted for some reason. I love this soup and I agree, Kale is awesome! I’ve started drinking green smoothies this week and have been adding Kale … but so far I much prefer it cooked. I think I need to come up with the right combination of fruits. Have a great day!

  1. Heaven in a bowl! This is by far one of my most favorite soups EVER! I had it many, many years ago at Olive Garden (back before I knew better) and couldn’t wait to make it at home. Your photo is just stunning. You should frame it and hang it in your kitchen. You are very inspiring!

    • Hi Cheryl. I have to agree … it is heaven in a bowl. I ate that soup a couple nights in a row and then froze some for later. It freezes pretty well and will make for a quick and easy dinner during the week. Thank you so much for the nice compliments … I really appreciate that! Food photography is something I struggled with in the beginning of my blog and I vowed to improve. 🙂

  2. Yum, I love zuppa toscano soup! I make a similar version sans bacon and cream. I’ve found the potatoes, if I stir constantly, release enough starch to make it creamy! I’m definitely going to have to try this one out, though. Looks too good not to! 🙂

    • Hi 🙂 Thank you for stopping by and for the comment. And thanks for the tip about stirring constantly … I want to try it your way without the added fat of cream and bacon! But I do have to admit I love it with the bacon and cream.

  3. Pingback: Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana RecipesFavorite Food Recipes

Leave a Reply

