Grilled Ahi Tuna on a bed of Spinach – Quick, Easy, Simple … Enjoy the Simple Pleasures of Life!

Enjoy the simple pleasures in life!  This philosophy is something I have always embraced … it truly is the simple things in life that bring me the most pleasure and enjoyment in life.  It is all about being in the moment.  Simple pleasures I have experienced this week are walking my dogs and observing them.  Even though they walk every day when I ask them if they want to go for a walk they get so excited, wagging their tails and prancing about, as if they have never gone for a walk before.  We can learn a lot from our dogs, they don’t worry about the past, they don’t obsess about the future, they simply enjoy the moments. They treat experiences like walking as if it is something new and exciting, they don’t become complacent … they live in the moment.

 Simple pleasures I have experienced this week are:

  • Observing the trees each day, slowly opening their buds to expose their brilliant lime green leaves … one day at a time
  • The warmth of the sunshine on my face
  • Noticing the magnolia tree buds expanding and unveiling their beauty
  • My daffodils, opening for the first time ever since their planting in the Fall
  • Blades of grass growing at an amazing speed from one day to the next
  • Seeing all my perennial flowers emerge from the warming soil
  • The smell of freshly cut grass
  • My cherry tree buds opening and embracing the sunshine … and the pleasures go on and on as spring enfolds.

Northeast Ohio has been blessed with a very early Spring/Summer and pleasures abound in nature … take time to notice all that is around you and revel in the simple pleasures of life, of Spring, everything is new, everything is fresh .. a season of new beginnings unfolds.

This is one of my favorite meals during the week.  It is quick, easy, healthy, simple and very good!

Sautéed Spinach:

Place sliced mushrooms in a pan with sliced garlic and a  little olive oil until browned, add fresh baby spinach until just wilted and serve.

Grilled Ahi Tuna:

There are numerous recipes for grilled tuna, but Ahi Tuna is so delicious it doesn’t need much.  I sprinkled this with Ginger citrus seasoning and grilled 3 minutes per side.  Be careful not to over cook.

Plate on top of spinach, serve and enjoy!

29 thoughts on “Grilled Ahi Tuna on a bed of Spinach – Quick, Easy, Simple … Enjoy the Simple Pleasures of Life!

  1. This looks so healthy! Love it…have been trying to cut down on pasta (sorry, Princess) after too many months of comfort food. Here is a link to a wonderful recipe that you may want to try…I have made it twice this week, once for our son’s birthday celebration then again after I sent all the leftovers home with our young adult children!
    http://www.wegmans.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10052&catalogId=10002&productId=732698

    • Thank you! Thank you so much for thinking of me and sending me the link. The recipe sounds great… I will give it a try. Oh how I miss Wegmans!! I used to live in Syracuse, New York and shopped at Wegmans weekly! Ha Ha … I know the feeling, even I am trying to cut back on the pasta with summer coming and a beach vacation in 5 weeks! Yikes, I’m scared to bring my bathing suit out of hiding! Time for more fish and chicken! 🙂

  2. Looks delicious! It is always good to enjoy the simple pleasures in life…right now my blog (since I just started) is definitely a simple pleasure. I am always excited thinking about it and when I come up with new ideas. I am going to be posting something about Ahi Tuna this week…not a recipe though so i will link it to this page.

    Thanks!

    • Thank you!! I’m glad you are enjoying your new blog .. it becomes addictive! I find that now when I cook, I don’t just cook, I also think about how it will photograph for my blog and what background I will use! Thanks … that is so nice, I appreciate the link!

  3. Pingback: Smoked Porter, Sliders, and more! | Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews

  4. That’s perfectly grilled tuna and garlic spinach is one of my favorite quick and easy dishes. I love sashimi and am thinking it’ll be wonderful, too, in place of grilled tuna. But I have to ask about the ginger citrus seasoning as I am not familiar with it. Is this a store-bought seasoning or one I have to put together myself?

    Anyway, I love your reference to the joy your dogs exhibit at something as simple as a walk. Another thing I like about them is the welcome they can give you which is always effusive whether you were gone for 15 minutes or a whole day. There really is so much to learn from them. 🙂

    Thanks, Princess. 🙂

Leave a comment